Starting our Journey to GiGi’fication

In 2014, I decided to stop looking at the world and searching for what I now consider, scapegoats. I wanted to find the most valuable way to own how my decisions had contributed to what I have and have not contributed to what I have or have not accomplished in my life. In having a discussion with a friend,  I expected her to give me some encouraging words that would drive me to not beat myself up so bad. Instead she joined in. She suggested that I listen to Brene Brown’s TEDTalk.  Much to my surprise Brene Brown studies vulnerability, courage, authenticity, and shame. Initially, I couldnt quite relate my shortcomings to how these four factors contributed to where I am in my life versus where I want to be, both personally and professionally. My curiosity drove me to pick up Mrs. Brown’s book THE GIFTS OF IMPERFECTIONMuch to my surprise I had epiphany, realizing that it was time for me to stop dwelling on what I hadn’t accomplished at my mere 33 years of living. I needed to, rather, engage my head and heart and explore ways to develop the courage, compassion, and connection to wake up in the morning and think, “No matter what gets done and how much is left undone, I am enough,” and to go to bed at night thinking, “Yes, I am sometimes afraid, but I am also brave. And, yes, I am imperfect and vulnerable, but that doesn’t change the truth that I am worthy of love and belonging.”

This started my journey to truly tapping into “what I want to be when I grow up”. Among all things I want to be worthy of being loved. Furthermore I want to love myself, as I am, enough to be as good to me as I am to others. I realized that I am a longtime sufferer of codepency, I needed to understand that I could no longer be upset with others when I put their prioroties before my own priorities.

Reflection:

Check out Brene Brown. Understand that there is power in your imperfections.

Happy GiGi’fying!!1adfa9eeee9d0be6ffc413e829a4932a

Leave a Reply

